Google

Shoe Repair

in the News

Click here for all of the headlines

Shoe Repair Forum - SSIA's Ask the Experts
Shoe Repair Forum - SSIA's Ask the Experts
Home | Profile | Register | Active Topics | Active Polls | Members | Search | FAQ
Username:
Password:
Save Password
Forgot your Password?

All Forums
 Tips from SSIA Professionals
 Ask the Experts
 My Problems Trying To Resole Sperry Shoes
 New Topic  Reply to Topic
 Printer Friendly
Author Previous Topic Topic Next Topic  

Sole Survivor

3 Posts

Posted - 03/31/2011 :  3:49:57 PM  Show Profile  Reply with Quote
Hi, I have been wearing Sperry Topsiders for over thirty years. I used to buy a pair for dates, and when they got scuffed, wore them deck-side, and they graduated to work shoes when they got bad. I didnít like them for a year until the first resole, when they got broken in.

Sperry used to sell resoles. The tennis shoe market ruined the shoe market, because the shoe industry convinced consumers that shoes molded from rubber for pennies are worth hundreds of dollars, and traditional shoe companies couldnít compete with these worthless throw away products. Sperry sold out some years ago to a throw away company. (As I understand things in my perspective) and they stopped making replacement soles, as well as beginning to make molded soles, and a cheaper product, though they did not lower their price. Who can blame them? If clowns will buy ďPenny Tennys,Ē why not sell them?

I went round and round. I hunted high and low for soles. I bought new Sperrys, and hated them. Hold the toe and heel, and make a motion like you are wringing a towel, twisting opposite directions with torsion, and they twist effortlessly. Not a working shoe. Resoled, they are much more rigid, and provide a superior base.